First Look At Angela Bassett & Mary J. Blige As Betty Shabazz & Coretta Scott King In ‘Betty & Coretta’ | Shadow and Act.

Scene from Betty and Coretta [Angela Bassett as Coretta Scott King and Mary J Blige as Betty Shabazz]

I’m already praying I wont have to wait too long to catch this here in the UK. Mary J Blige is one of my top female singers (self-confessed ‘Stan’ alert) and Angela Bassett is easily one of my top actors.

The subject of the film already captures my interest as much of what I know about the wives of Dr King and Malcolm X is contextualised as them as wives to these great public figures and civil rights activists; presuming this double biopic is aiming to be factually accurate I’m looking forward to finding out a bit about the women in the context of them as women, as Betty and Coretta.

Its due to be aired on 2nd February in the US so come the 3rd I’ll be looking out for any links posted on-line…*heavy hint* Well as Malcolm said, “By any means necessary” right?

Betty and Coretta

Coretta Scott King and Betty Shabazz (Photographer: Ray Wilson)

